Reigning World Champions Australia come into the Rabobank Hockey World Cup as the number one ranked team and have set themselves the clear target of defending the title they won in New Delhi, India four years ago. Legendary coach Ric Charlesworth – who recently announced his intention to step down after the upcoming Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland – has named a squad packed full of tried and tested world class players along with a sprinkling of fresh talent. Four players – Rob Hammond, Liam de Young, Mark Knowles and 35-year-old, five times FIH Player of the Year Jamie Dwyer – are all Gold medalists from the Athens 2004 Olympic Games and were central figures in the squad that won the 2010 World Cup.

Reigning World Champions Australia
Reigning World Champions Australia

Kieran Govers, Fergus Kavanagh, Eddie Ockenden, Simon Orchard, Matthew Swann and Glenn Turner were also members of the 2010 team, ensuring that there is plenty of Hockey World Cup experience within the group. The youngest member of the squad is Jeremy Hayward, a 21-year-old attacker who recently made his senior international tournament debut at the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in Malaysia, impressing with three goals as “The Kookaburras” claimed the title. Australia are widely expected to be among the frontrunners for the Gold medal, and could take some stopping.

Best World Cup results:
The men won gold in 1986 (London) and 2010 (Bombay). They’ve taken part in 11 previous World Cups.

FIH World Ranking:

28-04-2014: Austrilian men’s team finalised
18-04-2014: This is Kieran Govers
14-04-2014: This is: Australia
26-03-2014: Charlesworth to stand down
14-03-2014: Australia undressed
03-11-2013: Australia wins Oceania Cup
07-06-2013: Kookaburras call on Olympic experience
22-06-2013: Australia did it!

See more >>> belgium